lieb

I’m happy to be nominated for a Liebster by The Wonderful World of Cinema and The Old Hollywood Garden. I enjoy being part of a circle of fabulous film blogs, and so below are my answers to the 11 questions I was given first.

Because we’ve all nominated one another, I’ll have to break the chain here, but I am happy to answer the questions (using all noir answers) and read others’ Liebster posts. Cheers and happy new year all!

 

1- If you had to “promote” a not too well known classic film, what will be your choice?

Well-known is relative to the audience, but for those who like noir and haven’t yet plunged deeply into the genre, I’d promote 1955’s The Big Combo. It’s full of extreme noir types in a sleazy, riveting tale of crime. There’s Richard Conte’s sadistic crime boss Mr. Brown, hitman duo Lee Van Cleef and Earl Holliman (Fante and Mingo), Jean Wallace’s wilting, drug-addled blonde in need of rescue, and Helene Stanton’s burlesque girl with a heart of gold. Add Cornel Wilde as our valiant police lieutenant and supporting cast including Brian Donlevy and Helen Walker, and you have a recipe for an unforgettable late noir adventure.

2- You are participating to the making of a film. What’s your job?

I’m on screen in a fabulous character role a la Claire Trevor in Key Largo.

3- Do you share your birthday with one of your favourite movie stars? If yes, who?

Interesting. I’ll go check. Jerry Springer! (LOL) Also, apparently, Peter Gabriel and Peter Tork. There’s also Kim Novak, but she’s definitely not one of my faves.  So, I guess the answer is no.

4- What is your favourite movie score?

I fear this question. I love soundtracks that keep me involved, but I don’t have a favorite. Vertigo has a haunting score with memorable motifs, but that may be because I’ve seen it so many times.

5- How many films per week do you usually watch?

Depends on the week. 1-5, mostly via YouTube when noir.

6- What do you think is the most CREATIVE movie ever made and why?

I’m pretty wild about Sally Potter’s Orlando, but that’s far from noir. Most creative noir might be the Wachowskis’ Bound because I love how it handles its homage and twists. Sunset Boulevard is pretty amazing as a noir, too.

7- Do you have a child name[d] after a certain movie star or movie character? Or are you planning this for your future kid (if you plan to have one, or many!).

Nope. I’ve had my one child, and he was named after deceased family members.

8- How much does classic film influence your everyday life?

A great deal because I teach film and pop culture studies and publish research in the field. Plus my father loved Hollywood and acted, so we always talked about it.

9- What are you planning to do to honour Olivia de Havilland on her centennial next July? 😉

I’ll watch and write about The Dark Mirror!

10- What do you enjoy the most about blogging?

I love sharing perspectives on classic film, analyzing and interpreting. And I like reading others’ recommendations.

11- Do you have any advise, suggestions for future bloggers?

Think of it as a conversation; read as well as write; edit and proofread!

