Day 11: Your Favorite Movie from Your Childhood

Needless to say, I didn’t watch noir as a child. My strongest childhood memory of seeing a film at a theater was watching Disney’s Fantasia (1940) with my Bubbe (grandmother) in the 70s. I also remember being too young to watch Hitchcock’s The Birds (1963) on TV but watching it anyway.  For the most part, though, I saw neo-noir long before I watched noir. So, I’m going to tweak this challenge to focus a neo-noir that I loved from the first time I saw it in the theater (even if I didn’t understand the 1940s/noir elements as well as the SF in it):

BLADE RUNNER (1982)

blade-runner-2.png

I still love this film, and I confess it’s mostly for Rutger Hauer, in his best ever role:

I really should watch it again, although I think I’ll like the version with the voiceover best, given its noir vibe. (And I bet I still won’t like Sean Young.)

